COVID-19 Updates for our Partners

This page contains news on how MPAC is responding to the COVID-19 pandemic and includes shareable resources for you to use on your own platforms to share with property owners and your members.

As COVID-19 continues to impact communities across Ontario, all MPAC offices are closed. Our team continues to be available to take your calls and assist you online – please contact us.

How MPAC is Responding to Requests for Tax Relief

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to disrupt economic activity, some property owners and their representatives are exploring available options for tax relief, including by filing a municipal tax application or Request for Reconsideration.

Here is what you need to know about how MPAC is responding to these requests for the 2020 and 2021 property tax years.

Municipal Tax Applications

In situations where a building withstands damage by fire, demolition or otherwise that renders it substantially unusable, a property owner may file an application with their municipality to cancel, reduce or refund property taxes based on specific criteria in accordance with Section 357(1)(d)(ii) of the Municipal Act.

MPAC’s role in the municipal tax application process is to provide factual information to the municipality to assist the decision-maker in determining whether a tax refund, cancellation or reduction is warranted.

In the case of tax applications citing COVID-19, MPAC will review applications provided by municipalities and determine whether any information exists demonstrating there was physical damage to a building on the land during the applicable taxation year. Where MPAC has no record of any physical damage to a building, MPAC will provide the current value assessment as returned for the subject property for the 2020 and 2021 tax years.

Any influence the COVID‐19 pandemic may have on property values was not in effect on January 1, 2016 – the current legislated valuation date. For that reason, MPAC will not adjust a property’s current value assessment as a result of COVID-19.

Requests for Reconsideration Citing COVID-19

Every property owner has the option to file a Request for Reconsideration (RfR) for every taxation year, if they disagree with their property assessment or classification. MPAC reviews and responds to every RfR it receives.

However, any influence the COVID-19 pandemic may have on property values was not in effect on January 1, 2016 - the current legislated valuation date. For that reason, RfRs that exclusively cite COVID-19 will not result in a value change for the 2021 and 2022 property tax years.

MPAC property inspections

NOTICE: Starting June 11, we will be resuming exterior property inspections in communities across Ontario, providing us the opportunity to validate data that cannot be collected through other means to help ensure we can continue to achieve our commitments and service targets.

The safety of both employees and the public is our top priority.  

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are following new safety protocols. Before beginning any inspections, our employees are required to complete a daily COVID-19 self-assessment, observe physical distancing guidelines, use personal protective equipment, and follow all MPAC workplace guidelines and procedures when completing exterior inspections.

COVID-19 Self-Assessment

All persons entering MPAC offices or performing work on MPAC’s behalf must screen for COVID-19 before going in each day.

The questions in the self-assessment have been defined by the Ministry of Health.  This screening cannot diagnose you.  If you have medical questions, consult your healthcare provider.  Follow the direction of your local public health unit over the advice in this tool. 

Assessment Update postponed

As part of the Ontario Government’s Budget on March 24, the Minister of Finance announced the Province’s decision to once again postpone a province-wide property assessment update due to the pandemic. 

Property assessments for the 2022 property tax year will continue to be based on January 1, 2016 current values. This means your property assessment remains the same as it was for the 2021 tax year, unless there have been changes to your property, for example:

  • A change to your property including an addition, new construction, or renovation.
  • A structure on your property was assessed for the first time
  • A change to your property’s classification
  • A property no longer qualifies as farmland, conservation land or managed forests
  • All or part of your property no longer qualifies to be tax exempt

MPAC will continue to update property information to enable the People of Ontario to access impartial property data for smart business planning and strategy development. 

We also continue to support the 444 municipalities across the province with assessing new properties, renovations, and property improvements to support the management of their assessment base. 

Shareable COVID-19 resources for staff

Our President & CAO, Nicole McNeill, is holding all-staff webinars to help MPAC staff cope with the COVID-19 pandemic, stay connected and continue to work hard to support you.

Excerpts of webinars with guest experts are currently available on our YouTube channel. If these can be helpful to you and your staff, we encourage you to share them. More resources will be shared as they become available.

Stay in touch with us

Read our monthly municipal newsletter, InTouch.

Attend our municipal webinars held at 1 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month and more frequently as needed. Missed one of our monthly webinars? They are all recorded and made available on our YouTube channel.

Follow us on our social media channels

We’re here to help

Municipal Partners

Your local Municipal and Stakeholder Relations team is always available. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact your MPAC Account Manager.

Industry Partners

If you have any questions or concerns, please email industry@mpac.ca.

MPAC Products and Services

If you have any questions regarding MPAC products or services, please email propertyline@mpac.ca.

Mises à jour sur la COVID-19 à l’intention de nos partenaires

Cette page contient des nouvelles sur les mesures prises par la SEFM à la suite de la pandémie de COVID-19. Vous y trouverez des ressources partageables que vous pouvez utiliser sur vos propres plateformes afin de les diffuser auprès des propriétaires et de vos membres.

Alors que la COVID-19 continue à affecter les communautés en Ontario, nous restons à votre disposition pour répondre à vos appels et pour vous aider en ligne. Nos bureaux sont ouverts au public sur rendez-vous uniquement. Pour prendre rendez-vous, veuillez communiquer avec nous.
 

Comment la SEFM répond-elle aux demandes d’allégement fiscal?

Alors que la pandémie de COVID-19 continue de perturber l’activité économique, certains propriétaires fonciers ainsi que leurs représentants étudient les options d’allégement fiscal disponibles, notamment en déposant une demande relative à l’impôt municipal ou une demande de réexamen.

Voici ce que vous devez savoir sur la façon dont la SEFM répond à ces demandes pour les années d’imposition foncière 2020 et 2021.

Demandes relatives à l’impôt municipal

Dans les cas où un bâtiment résiste aux dommages causés par un incendie, une démolition ou autre qui le rend en grande partie inutilisable, le propriétaire foncier peut déposer une demande auprès de sa municipalité pour annuler, réduire ou se faire rembourser les impôts fonciers selon des critères précis, conformément au sous-alinéa 357(1)d)(ii) de la Loi sur les municipalités.

Le rôle de la SEFM dans le processus de demande d’impôt municipal consiste à fournir des renseignements factuels à la municipalité afin d’aider le décideur à déterminer si un remboursement, une annulation ou une réduction d’impôt est justifié.

Dans le cas des demandes d’impôt qui mentionnent la COVID-19, la SEFM examinera les demandes présentées par les municipalités et déterminera s’il existe des renseignements qui prouvent qu’un bâtiment sur le terrain a subi des dommages matériels au cours de l’année d’imposition applicable. Si la SEFM n’a pas de dossier sur les dommages matériels causés à un bâtiment, la société fournira l’évaluation de la valeur actuelle retournée pour la propriété en question pour les années d’imposition de 2020 et 2021.

Toute influence que la pandémie de COVID-19 pourrait avoir sur la valeur de la propriété n’était pas en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016, la date d’évaluation actuelle prévue par la loi. Pour cette raison, la SEFM ne rectifiera pas l’évaluation de la valeur actuelle d’une propriété en raison de la COVID-19.

Demandes de réexamen qui mentionnent la COVID-19

Chaque propriétaire foncier a la possibilité de déposer une demande de réexamen (DR) pour chaque année d’imposition, s’il n’est pas d’accord avec l’évaluation ou la classification de sa propriété. La SEFM étudie et répond à chaque DR qu’elle reçoit.

Toutefois, toute influence que la pandémie de COVID-19 pourrait avoir sur la valeur de la propriété n’était pas en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016, la date d’évaluation actuelle prévue par la loi. Pour cette raison, les DR qui mentionnent la COVID-19 n’entraîneront pas de changement de valeur pour l’année d’imposition foncière de 2021 et 2022.

Inspections immobilières de la SEFM

Nous avons repris les inspections des propriétés dans les collectivités de l’Ontario. Ces inspections nous donnent l’occasion de valider des données qui ne peuvent être recueillies par aucun autre moyen pour nous assurer que nous pouvons continuer à respecter nos engagements et nos objectifs de service.

Report de la mise à jour de l’évaluation foncière

Dans le cadre du présentation du document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2021 le 4 novembre, Peter Bethlenfalvy, ministre des Finances et président du Conseil du Trésor, a annoncé la décision de la province de reporter à nouveau une mise à jour de l’évaluation foncière à l’échelle provinciale en raison de la pandémie.

Les évaluations foncières pour les années d’imposition foncières 2022 et 2023 resteront fondées sur les valeurs actuelles au 1er janvier 2016. Cela signifie que votre évaluation foncière demeure la même qu’elle l’était pour l’année d’imposition 2021, sauf si des changements ont été apportés à votre propriété, par exemple :

  • un changement à votre propriété, y compris un ajout, une nouvelle construction ou des rénovations;
  • une structure située sur votre propriété a été évaluée pour la première fois;
  • un changement de classification de votre propriété;
  • une propriété qui ne rend plus les conditions requises pour être évaluée en tant que terre agricole, terre protégée ou forêt aménagée;
  • toute votre propriété ou une partie de celle-ci ne rend plus les conditions requises pour être exonérée d’impôt.

La SEFM continuera de maintenir une base de données exhaustive et de fournir des valeurs immobilières, des connaissances et des services qui permettent aux organismes et aux municipalités de prendre des décisions judicieuses.

Nous continuons également d’appuyer les 444 municipalités à l’échelle de la province pour l’évaluation des nouvelles propriétés, des rénovations et des améliorations apportées à la propriété afin d’appuyer la gestion de leur base d’évaluation.

Restez en contact avec nous

Lisez notre bulletin d’information mensuel pour les municipalités, À l’écoute.

Assistez à nos webinaires pour les municipalités, qui ont lieu le premier jeudi de chaque mois à 13 h et plus fréquemment au besoin. Vous avez raté l’un de nos webinaires mensuels? Ils sont tous enregistrés et sont mis à votre disposition sur notre chaîne YouTube.

Suivez-nous sur nos réseaux de médias sociaux

Nous sommes là pour vous aider

Partenaires municipaux

Il est toujours possible de communiquer avec votre équipe locale de relations avec les municipalités et les intervenants. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez contacter votre directeur des comptes de la SEFM.

Partenaires de l’industrie

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, envoyez un courriel à industry@mpac.ca.

Produits et services de la SEFM

Si vous avez des questions concernant les produits ou services de la SEFM, veuillez envoyer un courriel à propertyline@mpac.ca.