How Sales Affect Your Property Assessment

Property assessments for Ontario’s approximately 4.8 million residential properties are determined using mass appraisal. Mass appraisal is a process of valuing a group of properties as of a given date, using common data, standardized methods and statistical testing. To conduct a mass appraisal, MPAC reviews sales and property information of open market transactions within a given market area.

The results of the mass appraisal are applied against the details (e.g., square footage, lot size, age of home, etc.) of your property to determine your current value assessment. Your current value assessment is then used by Ontario’s municipalities to determine property taxation.

For more information on the mass appraisal process, please refer to our residential methodology guide.

Sale Price vs. Current Value

It is important not to confuse the meaning of the terms: Sale Price and Current Value. The sale price of a property is the final dollar figure negotiated and agreed on between parties. A property’s current value is an informed opinion of its worth, based on analysis of all sales transactions in a given market area.

Buyers and sellers are motivated for different reasons that may affect how much they are willing to pay for a property, or how much they agree to sell a property for. Prices can also be influenced by:

  • The supply and demand for properties in a neighbourhood at the time of listing.
  • The negotiating skills of either party.
  • The financial circumstances of either party.
  • The length of time on the market.
  • Individual preferences

The motivations of buyers and sellers have a direct impact on a property’s sale price. While a property’s sale price is determined by the two parties, a property’s value is set by the results of mass appraisal within it’s market area.

What is an open market transaction?

MPAC only includes open market transactions within its mass appraisal process. An open market sale is an arm's length transaction between willing and knowledgeable buyers and sellers. Sales not considered to be an open-market transaction are excluded from MPAC’s sales analysis. Examples of non-open market transactions include:

  • sales between related parties such as family members or subsidiary companies;
  • forced sales (e.g., under mortgage foreclosure, family break-up or expropriation);
  • sales from a builder or developer;
  • quit claim sales, clearing of a title;
  • sale was based on non-typical financing;
  • sale was for partial interest in the property;
  • sale included chattels, crops and/or goodwill.

Adjustments to Sale Prices

It is sometimes necessary to make an adjustment to a property’s sale price so that it reflects the amount that would be paid if it was an open market transaction and only reflects the value of the real estate.

Adjustments may be made to sales that are affected by the following scenarios:

1 - Price Changes over Time

Other adjustments to sale prices are also required when the local real estate market is in a state of inflation and/or deflation, in order to ensure all sales reflect the same market conditions as to a common point in time. This common point in time is referred to as the valuation date in Ontario’s Assessment Act.

Part of the mass appraisal process is to track the change in price levels over time and develop time adjustments to ensure all sales reflect market conditions as of the legislated valuation date.

In the case where a sale is registered some months after the price is negotiated - for example, new construction and condominiums - the sale price may not reflect the market conditions at the time of registration.

2 - A change to property takes place after the sale

MPAC’s sales analysis uses property data present at the time the sale occurred. If a physical change is made after the sale, then the transaction price no longer represents the state and condition of the property at time of sale. In this instance, the transaction price no longer can be used to represent an estimate of current value for your property.

Incidence des ventes sur votre évaluation

Les évaluations foncières pour les quelque 4,8 millions de propriétés résidentielles de l’Ontario sont déterminées en utilisant l’évaluation de masse. Ce processus consiste à évaluer un groupe de propriétés à une date donnée en recourant à des données communes, des méthodes standardisées et des tests statistiques. Pour effectuer une évaluation de masse, la SEFM examine les ventes et les renseignements sur les propriétés concernant des transactions sur le marché libre dans une zone de marc

Les résultats de l’évaluation de masse sont comparés aux détails de votre propriété (p. ex., superficie, dimensions du lot, âge de la maison, etc.) afin de déterminer votre évaluation de la valeur actuelle. Celle-ci est alors utilisée par les municipalités de l’Ontario pour déterminer l’impôt foncier.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d’évaluation de masse, veuillez consulter notre guide sur la méthodologie pour les propriétés résidentielles.

Prix de vente par rapport à valeur actuelle

Il est important de ne pas confondre la signification des termes suivants : prix de vente et valeur actuelle. Le prix de vente d’une propriété est le montant final en dollars négocié et accepté par les parties. La valeur actuelle d’une propriété est une opinion éclairée de sa valeur, basée sur l’analyse de toutes les transactions de vente dans une zone de marché donnée.

Les acheteurs et les vendeurs sont motivés par diverses raisons qui peuvent influer sur le prix qu’ils sont prêts à payer pour une propriété ou auquel ils acceptent de vendre une propriété. Les prix peuvent également être influencés par :

  • L’offre et la demande pour des propriétés situées dans un certain quartier au moment de l’inscription.
  • Les aptitudes à la négociation de l’une ou l’autre des parties.
  • Les circonstances financières de l’une ou l’autre des parties.
  • La durée de la période pendant laquelle la propriété reste sur le marché.
  • Les préférences individuelles

Les motivations des acheteurs et des vendeurs ont des répercussions directes sur le prix de vente d’une propriété. Si celui-ci est déterminé par les deux parties, la valeur de la propriété est fixée par les résultats de l’évaluation de masse dans sa zone de marché.

En quoi consiste une transaction effectuée sur un marché libre?

La SEFM n’inclut dans son processus d’évaluation de masse que les transactions effectuées sur un marché libre. Une vente sur le marché libre est une transaction sans lien de dépendance entre un acheteur et un vendeur consentants et bien renseignés. Les ventes qui ne sont pas considérées comme étant des transactions sur le marché libre sont exclues de l’analyse des ventes de la SEFM. Voici quelques exemples de transactions qui ne sont pas sur le marché libre :

  • des ventes entre des parties liées, telles que des membres d’une famille ou des filiales;
  • des ventes forcées (p. ex., en vertu d’une saisie hypothécaire, de la rupture d’une famille ou d’une expropriation);
  • les ventes d’un constructeur ou d’un promoteur;
  • les ventes faisant suite à un acte de renonciation aux droits ou à un titre;
  • la vente était fondée sur un financement non représentatif;
  • la vente visait un intérêt partiel dans la propriété;
  • la vente comprenait des biens meubles, des récoltes ou des fonds de commerce.

Rajustements aux prix de vente

Il est parfois nécessaire de rajuster le prix de vente d’une propriété afin de refléter le montant qui aurait été payé dans le cas d’une transaction sur le marché libre et ne reflète que la valeur du bien immobilier.

Des rajustements peuvent être apportés aux ventes qui sont affectées par les scénarios suivants :

1 – Variations du prix en fonction du temps

D’autres rajustements aux prix de vente sont également requis lorsque le marché immobilier local vit une situation d’inflation ou de déflation, afin de s’assurer que toutes les ventes reflètent les mêmes conditions du marché à une date commune. Cette date commune est appelée « date d’évaluation » dans la Loi sur l’évaluation foncière.

Une partie du processus d’évaluation de masse consiste à assurer le suivi des changements des niveaux de prix avec le temps et à élaborer des rajustements en fonction du temps afin de s’assurer que toutes les ventes reflètent les conditions du marché à la date d’évaluation prescrite par la loi.

Lorsqu’une vente est enregistrée quelques mois après la négociation du prix, comme dans le cas des nouvelles constructions et des copropriétés, il est possible que le prix de vente ne reflète pas les conditions du marché au moment de l’enregistrement.

2 – La propriété est modifiée après la vente

L’analyse des ventes de la SEFM utilise les données sur les propriétés qui sont présentes à la date de la vente. Lorsque des modifications physiques sont réalisées après la vente, le prix de la transaction ne représente plus l’état et la situation de la propriété au moment de la vente. Dans un tel cas, le prix de la transaction ne peut plus être utilisé pour représenter une estimation de la valeur actuelle de votre propriété.