Freedom of information requests

Complete and sign an Access to Information Request Form and submit it along with the required $5.00 application fee to the Freedom of Information, Privacy and Records Management Office.

Before you file a Freedom of Information (FOI) request, please review what records are already publicly available on our website, by visiting AboutMyProperty or by contacting our Customer Contact Centre.

What is an FOI request

The Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (MFIPPA) provides the right to access records that are in the custody or control of Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC).

Anyone may file a Freedom of Information (FOI) request. The MFIPPA provides the right to access in accordance with the principles that:

  • Records of public institutions should be available to the public;
  • Exemptions to the right of access are limited and specific;
  • Individuals have the right to access and to correct their own personal information; and,
  • Decision regarding the right of access are independently reviewed.

With some exceptions, we must legally respond to an FOI request within 30 days after it is received.  Although an FOI request may be made for any record, normally requests are for records that are not already publicly available as part of our standard information disclosure methods.

Personal information is only released to the person whom the information is about, their authorized agents, or where the law otherwise permits or requires it.  Also, MPAC does not release actual income, expense, or third party information except where allowed or required by law, such as in response to production obligations of the Assessment Review Board (ARB), courts or quasi/judicial tribunals.

Before you file an FOI request

We strongly believe in transparency.  As part of our routine business disclosures under our Guidelines for the Release of Assessment Data (GRAD Policy), we already make available various information, documents, reports and other material to property owners and their authorized representatives at no cost.  These records provide assessment details about their property, comparable properties, show how a property’s assessed value was determined, market model information, including records that detail the various factors involved in a property’s assessment.  

Before you file an FOI request, you are encouraged to review what records are already publicly available on our website, by visiting AboutMyProperty or by contacting our Customer Contact Centre.

How to file an FOI request

Follow these steps to make a request for access to MPAC records under Ontario’s MFIPPA law.

Step 1: Determine what records you want to request

The MFIPPA provides access to existing records and does not obligate the creation of a new record or to answering questions.  Consequently, the record that you are seeking must exist and be identifiable. 

Before submitting an FOI Request, make sure you know what records you are seeking.  The MFIPPA requires that a request include sufficient detail to allow our staff to locate the record that is being sought.  If necessary, for assistance in identifying what records may exist, contact our Customer Contact Centre or the Freedom of Information, Privacy and Records Management Office.

Records that contain confidential, third party or personal information are subject to exemptions under the MFIPPA and may only be released to those whom the information relates. We are also prohibited from disclosing proprietary information of a commercial nature and actual income and expense information on an individual property.

Step 2: Submit a formal an FOI request

Complete and sign an Access to Information Request Form and submit it along with the required $5.00 application fee to the Freedom of Information, Privacy and Records Management Office. The fee is payable by credit card, personal cheque or bank draft.  Do not send cash. 

Requests received by electronic mail may not be processed until receipt of the original signed form and the application fee.

When describing what records you are seeking, please be clear and identify dates or time-periods.  A clearly defined request that is specific and with narrow scope will greatly assist staff to locate and retrieve the record, and respond to your request quickly.

Under the MFIPPA, a person seeking access to a record is required to provide sufficient detail to enable an experienced MPAC employee, with a reasonable effort, to identify the record that is sought.  Contact the Freedom of Information, Privacy and Records Management Office if you require assistance.

Step 3 - Await MPAC’s response

The MFIPPA requires us to provide a decision in response to an FOI Request within thirty (30) days from the date that a request is received complete. This time limit may be extended under certain circumstances.

When your request is received, we will send you an acknowledgement letter.  If applicable, we will also notify you during the course of processing your request of any time extensions or fees that may apply.

We will issue an access decision within the appropriate timeframe. Records that contain exemption information (information that cannot be disclosed) may be withheld entirely or be "severed", and such portions will be redacted or blacked-out.  If there are exemptions, the decision letter will explain in detail the exemptions that have been applied, the applicable MFIPPA section number, and give reasons.

Section 45 of the MFIPPA provides that fees are to be charged in respect to the work involved in processing FOI Requests.  If fees are applicable, the records will be provided to you when all fees have been paid. Please refer to “Fees” below for more information about fees.

If the record you seek contains your personal information and we lack sufficient detail to verify your identity, we reserve the right to ask you to present yourself in person at one of our business offices with government issued photo ID before the record is released to you.

If upon receiving an access decision letter you are not satisfied with the level of disclosure, the MFIPPA affords you thirty days (30) from the date of our decision letter to file an appeal with Ontario’s Information and Privacy Commissioner.  The decision letter will include details on how to file an appeal, including applicable fees, what must be included with the appeal filing and the address that the appeal is to be delivered.

Persons making an FOI Request are required under the MFIPPA to pay fees for the work involved in processing their request.  If fees apply to your request, you may have to provide a deposit and/or a final payment before you are given access to the record.  Payment can be made by credit card, cheque, or money order payable to the “Municipal Property Assessment Corporation”. Please do not send cash.

The fees are specified in Ontario Regulation 823 under the MFIPPA, and we are not permitted to vary, change or otherwise alter these amounts.  The fees are as follows:

  • Search time is $7.50 per 15 minutes
  • Preparation for disclosure is $7.50 per 15 minutes 
  • Computer program development is $15 per 15 minutes 
  • Photocopies and computer printouts are 20¢ per page 
  • CD-ROMs, DVD-ROMs or diskettes are $10 per disk
  • Shipping is charged at actual cost
  • Other reasonable and necessary expenses are charged at actual cost

Fee Waivers

The MFIPPA also provides that all or part of a fee may be waived if it is fair and equitable to do so, if the fee will cause financial hardship or if the dissemination of the record will benefit public health or safety.  

Requests for a fee waiver must be made in writing and include reasons and, if applicable, appropriate supporting documentation. All information provided will be held in confidence by MPAC, and accessed and used only by Freedom of Information, Privacy and Records Management staff who are assigned to the request file to evaluate eligibility for a waiver in accordance with the criteria set out in the MFIPPA.

If you have questions or require assistance on filing an FOI Request or if you have a privacy related matter, please contact:

Freedom of Information, Privacy and Records Management
Legal, Policy and Compliance
Municipal Property Assessment Corporation
1340 Pickering Parkway
Pickering ON  L1V 0C4

Telephone: 905 837-6188
Toll Free: 1 877 635-6722 ext. 6188
Email: foi@mpac.ca
Fax: 905 837-6146

Demandes d’accès à l’information

Remplissez et signez un formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information et soumettez-le avec les frais de demande obligatoires de 5 $ au Bureau d’accès à l’information, de protection de la vie privée et de gestion des dossiers.

Avant de présenter une demande d’accès à l’information, vérifiez quels dossiers sont déjà mis à votre disposition sur le site Web de la SEFM, en consultant AboutMyProperty ou en prenant contact avec le centre de communication avec la clientèle de la SEFM.

En quoi consiste une demande d’accès à l’information

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information municipale et la protection de la vie privée (LAIMPVP) donne le droit d’accéder aux dossiers dont la Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (SEFM) a le contrôle ou la garde.

N’importe qui peut présenter une demande d’accès à l’information. La LAIMPVP donne le droit d’accès, conformément aux principes suivants :

  • Les dossiers d’institutions publiques doivent être mis à la disposition du public;
  • Les exemptions au droit d’accès sont limitées et précises;
  • Les personnes ont le droit d’accéder à leurs renseignements personnels et de les corriger;
  • Les décisions concernant le droit d’accès sont examinées par une partie indépendante.

En dehors de quelques exceptions, la SEFM doit légalement répondre à une demande d’accès à l’information dans les 30 jours qui suivent sa réception.  Bien qu’une demande d’accès à l’information puisse être présentée pour n’importe quel dossier, de telles demandes concernent normalement des dossiers qui ne sont pas déjà accessibles par le public dans le cadre des méthodes standard de divulgation de l’information de la SEFM.

Les renseignements personnels ne sont divulgués qu’à la personne concernée par ces renseignements, à leurs mandataires autorisés, ou lorsque la loi le permet ou l’exige.  Par ailleurs, la SEFM ne divulgue aucun renseignement ayant trait aux revenus et aux dépenses réels ou appartenant à des tiers, sauf lorsque la loi le permet ou l’exige, par exemple à la suite d’obligations de présentation émises par la Commission de révision de l’évaluation foncière (CRÉF), les cours ou les tribunaux quasi judiciaires.

Avant de présenter une demande d’accès à l’information

La SEFM est convaincue de l’importance de la transparence.   Dans le cadre de nos communications d’affaires courantes en vertu de nos Lignes directrices pour la divulgation de données d’évaluation (politique sur les LDDDE), la SEFM met déjà gratuitement à la disposition des propriétaires et de leurs représentants autorisés divers renseignements, documents, rapports et autres matériels.  Ces dossiers fournissent des détails sur l’évaluation de leur propriété, des propriétés comparables, montrent comment la valeur imposable d’une propriété a été déterminée, des renseignements sur le modèle de marché, y compris des dossiers qui détaillent les différents facteurs pris en compte dans l’évaluation d’une propriété.  

Avant de présenter une demande d’accès à l’information, nous vous encourageons à vérifier quels dossiers sont déjà mis à votre disposition sur le site Web de la SEFM, en consultant AboutMyProperty ou en prenant contact avec le centre de communication avec la clientèle de la SEFM.

Comment présenter une demande d’accès à l’information

Suivez ces étapes pour soumettre une demande d’accès aux dossiers de la SEFM en vertu de la LAIMPVP de l’Ontario.

Étape 1 : Déterminez les dossiers que vous souhaitez demander

La LAIMPVP fournit un accès aux données qui existent déjà et n’impose aucune obligation de créer un nouveau dossier ou de répondre aux questions.  Par conséquent, le dossier que vous demandez doit exister et être identifiable. 

Avant de présenter une demande d’accès à l’information, assurez-vous de savoir quels dossiers vous demandez.  La LAIMPVP exige qu’une demande contienne suffisamment de détails pour permettre au personnel de la SEFM de trouver le dossier demandé.  Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour déterminer quels dossiers existent, prenez contact avec le centre de communication avec la clientèle ou le Bureau d’accès à l’information, de protection de la vie privée et de gestion des dossiers de la SEFM.

Les dossiers qui contiennent des renseignements confidentiels, tiers ou personnels sont assujettis à des exemptions en vertu de la LAIMPVP et ne peuvent être remis qu’aux personnes concernées par les renseignements. Il est également interdit à la SEFM de divulguer des renseignements exclusifs de nature commerciale et les renseignements ayant trait aux revenus et aux dépenses réels pour une propriété.

Étape 2 : Présentez une demande d’accès à l’information officielle

Remplissez et signez un formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information et soumettez-le avec les frais de demande obligatoires de 5 $ au Bureau d’accès à l’information, de protection de la vie privée et de gestion des dossiers. Ces frais sont payables par carte de crédit, chèque personnel ou traite de banque.  N’envoyez pas d’argent comptant. 

Il est possible que les demandes reçues par courriel ne soient pas traitées avant la réception du formulaire original signé et des frais de demande.

Lorsque vous décrivez les dossiers que vous demandez, soyez clair et indiquez des dates ou des périodes.  Une demande clairement définie, précise et de portée limitée, aidera considérablement le personnel à trouver et à récupérer le dossier et à répondre rapidement à votre demande.

En vertu de la LAIMPVP, une personne qui demande l’accès à un dossier est tenue de fournir suffisamment de détails pour permettre à un employé chevronné de la SEFM d’identifier le dossier recherché en faisant des efforts raisonnables.  Si vous avez besoin d’aide, prenez contact avec le Bureau d’accès à l’information, de protection de la vie privée et de gestion des dossiers.

Étape 3 : Attendez la réponse de la SEFM

La LAIMPVP exige que la SEFM fournisse une décision en réponse à une demande d’accès à l’information dans les trente (30) jours qui suivent la date de réception d’une demande complète. Cette échéance peut être prolongée dans certaines circonstances.

Lorsque votre demande sera reçue, la SEFM vous enverra un accusé de réception.  Le cas échéant, nous vous informerons également, au cours du traitement de votre demande, des prorogations de délai ou des frais qui pourraient s’appliquer. 

La SEFM vous enverra une lettre de décision concernant l’accès dans les délais appropriés. Les documents qui contiennent des renseignements exempts (qui ne peuvent pas être divulgués) peuvent être retenus en totalité ou « dissociés », et ces parties seront caviardées ou noircies.  S’il y a des exemptions, la lettre de décision expliquera en détail les exemptions qui ont été appliquées, le numéro de l’article applicable de la LAIMPVP et en donnera les raisons.

L’article 45 de la LAIMPVP prévoit que des frais doivent être facturés pour le travail de traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information.  Les dossiers vous seront remis une fois que tous les frais applicables auront été payés, le cas échéant. Veuillez consulter la section « Frais » ci-dessous pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant les frais.

Si le dossier contient vos renseignements personnels et nous n’avons pas suffisamment de détails pour vérifier votre identité, la SEFM se réserve le droit de vous demander de vous présenter en personne à un de nos bureaux avec une pièce d’identité avec photo délivrée par le gouvernement avant de vous remettre le dossier.

Si, après avoir reçu une lettre de décision concernant l’accès, vous n’êtes pas satisfait du niveau de divulgation, la LAIMPVP vous accorde trente (30) jours à partir de la date de la lettre de la SFM pour interjeter appel auprès du Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario.  La lettre de décision comprendra des détails sur la manière d’interjeter appel, y compris les frais applicables, ce qui doit être inclus avec le dépôt de l’appel et l’adresse à laquelle l’appel doit être délivré.

En vertu de la LAIMPVP, les personnes qui présentent une demande d’accès à l’information doivent payer des frais pour le travail requis pour traiter leur demande.  Si des frais s’appliquent à votre demande, vous devrez peut-être verser un acompte ou le paiement final avant d’obtenir accès au dossier.  Le paiement peut être fait par carte de crédit, chèque, mandat ou traite libellés à l’ordre de la « Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités ». Veuillez ne pas envoyer d’argent comptant.

Les frais sont précisés dans le Règlement de l’Ontario 823 pris en application de la LAIMPVP, et la SEFM n’est pas autorisée à modifier ces montants.  Les frais sont les suivants :

  • Temps de recherche : 7,50 $ par tranche de 15 minutes
  • Préparation pour la divulgation : 7,50 $ par tranche de 15 minutes 
  • Développement d’un programme informatique : 15 $ par tranche de 15 minutes 
  • Photocopies et imprimés d’ordinateur : 20 ¢ par page 
  • CD-ROM, DVD-ROM ou disquettes : 10 $ par disque
  • Les frais d’expédition sont facturés au coût réel
  • Les autres dépenses raisonnables et nécessaires sont facturées au coût réel

Exonération des frais

La LAIMPVP prévoit également l’exonération totale ou partielle des frais s’il est juste et équitable de le faire, si les frais entraînent des difficultés financières ou si la diffusion du document est utile pour la santé ou la sécurité publique.  

Les demandes d’exonération des frais doivent être présentées par écrit et inclure les raisons et, si possible, des pièces justificatives appropriées. Tous les renseignements fournis seront conservés en toute confidentialité par la SEFM, et seuls les membres du personnel des services d’accès à l’information, de la protection de la vie privée et de la gestion des dossiers qui sont affectés au dossier de demande pourront y accéder et les utiliser pour évaluer l’admissibilité à une exonération conformément aux critères énoncés dans la LAIMPVP.

Si vous avez des questions ou vous avez besoin d’aide pour présenter une demande d’accès à l’information, ou si vous avez une question relative à la protection de la vie privée, veuillez prendre contact avec :

Accès à l’information, protection de la vie privée et gestion des dossiers
Service juridique, de politiques et de conformité
Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités
1340 Pickering Parkway
Pickering (Ontario)  L1V 0C4

Téléphone : 905 837-6188
Sans frais : 1 877 635-6722, poste 6188
Courriel : foi@mpac.ca
Télécopieur : 905 837-6146